What is LD 10?

Like most other states in the United States, Arizona has a bicameral legislature with a lower chamber (House) and an upper chamber (Senate). Every ten years, the Arizona Independent Redistricting Commission divides the state into thirty “legislative districts”. Each legislative district then elects two House representatives and one senator to represent them. This is in contrast to other states that have separate boundaries for their lower and upper chamber members.

Although the boundaries of LD 10 are quite complicated, and resemble that of a roaring elephants, most residents in Mesa east of Val Vista Drive and north of Baseline Road are part of LD 10.